Pennsylvania Brewing Company Inc., operating as Penn Brewery, filed for chapter 11 bankruptcy protection in the U.S. Bankruptcy Court for the Western District of Pennsylvania on March 31, 2026 (Case No. 26-20914). The craft brewery chapter 11 filing puts one of Pittsburgh's oldest brewing brands into court-supervised restructuring after nearly 40 years in business. Penn Brewery listed estimated liabilities between $1 million and $10 million and assets of up to $50,000. First Commonwealth Bank holds the largest claim at approximately $5.1 million. The filing came after First Commonwealth sued the brewery. Ownership has stated that the Biergarten and all operations will continue through restructuring.
Pennsylvania Brewing Company Inc. (d/b/a Penn Brewery)
Court
U.S. Bankruptcy Court, Western District of Pennsylvania
Case Number
26-20914
Petition Date
March 31, 2026
Estimated Liabilities
$1 million – $10 million
Estimated Assets
Up to $50,000
Largest Creditor
First Commonwealth Bank (~$5.1 million, unsecured)
Case Snapshot
From Contract Brewer to Troy Hill Landmark
Penn Brewery was founded in 1986 by Tom Pastorius and his wife Mary Beth. Pastorius, a Penn State MBA who spent over 12 years living in Germany — first during Army service in the late 1960s, then during a business career in the 1970s — returned to Pittsburgh determined to introduce authentic German-style craft beer to the American market. He lobbied to change Pennsylvania law in 1987 to permit brewery-restaurant combinations, then signed a lease with the Northside Civic Development Council to occupy restored historic facilities in the Troy Hill neighborhood.
Penn Brewery's ownership has changed hands three times since Pastorius founded it:
2003 — Birchmere Capital acquisition. Pastorius sold an 80% stake to Birchmere Capital LP of Wexford, Pennsylvania. The deal was brokered by Jack Isherwood, former CEO of Pittsburgh Brewing Company (Iron City). Pastorius retained 20% and stayed on as president for five years before retiring in September 2008 at age 64. At the time, the brewery generated $4 million in annual beer revenue with an additional $1 million from restaurant food sales.
2009 — Closure and local rescue. In January 2009, Birchmere Capital ceased production at Troy Hill, laid off 8 of 10 employees, and outsourced brewing to Lion Brewery in Wilkes-Barre. The restaurant closed in August 2009. A local investor group — Sandy Cindrich, Corey Little, and Linda Nyman — acquired the brewery in November 2009 and brought Pastorius back to lead the restart. Brewing resumed on December 8, 2009. Tom Pastorius died of prostate cancer on September 6, 2012, at age 67.
First Commonwealth Bank and the $5.1 Million Claim
Schedules and statements had not yet been filed as of the petition date, and the debtor requested an extension to file those documents. The petition listed assets of $50,000 or less; the brewery occupies a historic 4-acre property and operates a second location at Pittsburgh International Airport.
Arkham Asylum LLC, d/b/a Arkham Realty and Property Management — Nitsch's real estate firm, which operates out of the same 800 Vinial Street building — filed its own chapter 11 petition (Case No. 26-20610) on March 4, 2026, 27 days before the brewery filing. In May 2024, Arkham secured $4.355 million in new commercial capital, though the lender and purpose of the financing were not disclosed. Arkham Realty manages the Penn Brewery Innovation Center office space in the same building.
Production Decline and a Contracting Craft Market
Penn Brewery's production has dropped roughly 30% under Nitsch's ownership: from approximately 5,000 barrels in 2022 to around 3,500 barrels (108,500 gallons) in 2025, making it the fourth-largest beer producer in the Pittsburgh region. The brewery has a nameplate capacity of 30,000 barrels annually — meaning it is currently operating at roughly 12% of capacity.
U.S. craft beer production fell 3.9% in 2024 — the largest non-pandemic decline on record — and dropped another 5% in the first half of 2025. Brewery closures have outpaced openings for three consecutive years: 434 closures versus 268 openings through mid-December 2025. The Brewers Association counted 9,269 operating breweries as of mid-2025, down from 9,730 two years earlier.
Fat Head's Brewery, which won Brewery of the Year at the 2025 Great American Beer Festival, announced its South Side Pittsburgh location would close after 34 years at the end of April 2026. Nationally, Olfactory Brewing (a GABF gold medalist) filed chapter 7 in March 2026, and Memphis Made Brewing filed chapter 11 in August 2025.
Is Penn Brewery closing?
No. Ownership stated on the day of filing that all operations continue, including the Biergarten on Vinial Street, the airport location, and a planned Halfway to Oktoberfest event on May 16, 2026. The brewery recently expanded to seven-day service.
How much debt does Penn Brewery have?
The petition estimated liabilities between $1 million and $10 million. First Commonwealth Bank holds the largest claim at approximately $5.1 million. Full schedules had not been filed at the time of the petition.
Who owns Penn Brewery?
Stefan Nitsch, an Austrian-born local businessman and real estate broker, purchased the brewery on August 1, 2022 from a local investor group that had rescued it from Birchmere Capital in 2009.
Who founded Penn Brewery?
Tom Pastorius and his wife Mary Beth founded the brewery in 1986. Pastorius, a Penn State MBA and Army veteran who spent over 12 years in Germany, changed Pennsylvania law to allow brewery-restaurant combinations. He died of prostate cancer in 2012 at age 67.
Why did Penn Brewery file for bankruptcy?
The petition did not state a specific cause. The filing followed a lawsuit by largest creditor First Commonwealth Bank. Production has declined roughly 30% since 2022 amid a broader craft beer industry contraction, and a related real estate entity (Arkham Realty) filed its own chapter 11 weeks earlier.
How much beer does Penn Brewery produce?
Approximately 3,500 barrels per year as of 2025, down from 5,000 at the time of the 2022 ownership change. The brewery has a nameplate capacity of 30,000 barrels annually.
filed for chapter 11 bankruptcy protection https://hoodline.com/2026/04/penn-brewery-taps-chapter-11-swears-pittsburgh-beer-hall-is-still-pouring/
$1 million and $10 million https://triblive.com/business/penn-brewery-insists-its-not-closing-despite-chapter-11-bankruptcy-filing/
First Commonwealth sued the brewery https://www.law360.com/bankruptcy-authority/articles/2460615
lobbied to change Pennsylvania law in 1987 https://www.post-gazette.com/news/obituaries/2012/09/10/Obituary-Thomas-Pastorius-made-craft-beer-popular-here-with-Penn-Brewery/stories/201209100205
originally constructed between 1848 and 1884 https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Penn_Brewery
rentable office space https://www.arkhamrealty.com/pbic
over 20 accolades https://www.pennlive.com/life/2026/04/award-winning-pa-brewery-files-for-bankruptcy-faced-real-challenges.html
retiring in September 2008 https://phlf.org/penn-brewery-founder-ready-to-have-his-last-call/
took ownership on August 1, 2022 https://www.pittsburghmagazine.com/penn-brewery-sold-to-local-businessman-as-current-owners-plan-to-retire/
assets of $50,000 or less https://www.thestreet.com/retail/pennsylvania-brewing-company-files-chapter-11-bankruptcy
May 2024, Arkham secured $4.355 million in new commercial capital https://www.intelligence360.news/pittsburgh-pennsylvania-metro-based-arkham-asylum-llc-dba-arkham-realty-has-secured-4355000-00-in-new-commercial-capital/
5,000 barrels in 2022 https://www.pittsburghmagazine.com/penn-brewerys-new-owner-looks-toward-the-future-while-preserving-the-past/
fell 3.9% in 2024 https://www.brewersassociation.org/association-news/brewers-association-reports-2024-u-s-craft-brewing-industry-figures/
"constantly struggles to stay afloat" https://www.post-gazette.com/business/career-workplace/2026/04/02/penn-brewery-chapter-11-bankruptcy-pittsburgh/stories/202604020073
South Side Pittsburgh location would close https://www.post-gazette.com/life/drinks/2026/03/31/fat-heads-south-side-closing/stories/202603310087
This article was researched and written with AI assistance, using court filings, public records, and news sources. AI-generated content can contain errors. Verify all information against primary sources before relying on it. This is not legal or financial advice. See the disclaimer.